The first project of the Fort Diamond dates back to 1747 but the actual construction began in 1756.
Other transformations avvenirono in 1814 by the Engineers Sardo. Its permanent abandonment, which lasts until today, is dated 1914.
The Fort Diamond is the station that is located further north within the walls of Genoa, also no longer located in the municipality of Genoa, but in the town of Sant'Olcese, only strong to be outside the boundaries of the municipality.
The fort is located on Diamond Mountain Diamond and is reachable by Val from Val Polcevera Bisagno, valleys on which the fort is dominant. The easiest way is still the one that comes from Forte Sperone and can arrive on foot, past the Fort Puin and Younger Brother, to the seat of Diamond and then the final section (shared between all access roads) with 14 switchbacks that climb up to the Fort.
Once at the top of the Diamond is the entrance of the fort, originally equipped with a drawbridge that is the Savoy coat of arms. The fort is now devoid of iron structures, including the grilles to protect the trap doors, removed during the Second World War. Despite the state of neglect, the structure, considering the position domiante the Apennines and the type of fortification, it is very scenic and charming.
If you liked this article, subscribe to the feed by clicking the image below to keep informed about new contents of the blog: